what a joy to be alive ?

When you arise in the morning, think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive – to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love. – Marcus Aurelius


I’m currently in Italy, and throughout this trip I’ve got the chance to experience new things, allowing me to give a couple of things deeper thoughts. These thoughts lead me to now, where I’m going to begin a series of #thoughtsfordays blog posts. These posts would talk about the things I think of that I did like to share, in hope that you guys would not just share your opinions but of course, give deeper thought to it as well.

By now you should have seen the quote at the very top, and so I believe you have a rough idea of what I’m about to talk about.

I was in Naples the other day and had the opportunity to have a guided tour in Pompeii. A short introduction for those who have no clue what Pompeii is. It is a town in Italy that was buried in up to 6m of volcanic ash after Mount Vesuvius decided to erupt in anger, wiping out its people. The exavacation of Pompeii allowed it to be the tourist destination it is today.

So what did I think of? I thought of how incredible it is for us to be able to have the chance to live and experience life differently if we dared to, because we have the choice to. It led me to the thought that we should remember that in the mist of the hectic and busy schedules, take time off for ourselves, because it is only right for us to treat ourselves right and also because as cliche as it sounds, it is our mind and body that will never leave us physically or mentally. I thought about how we should remember to take charge and be courageous enough to be do the things we never thought we could or dared in fear of judgement, because truthfully, those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind. I believe strongly in the quote I end my posts with, “always do something insane to stay sane, whilst being kind and grateful.” We only have so much time to live our lives and do things so why are we holding back? Wouldn’t it be horrifying to live a life with the regret of having not been able to do something within our means just because we weren’t fearless enough to be daring?

But wait, won’t “within our means” contradict to being daring and to be insane to stay sane? Her’s an example to explain a thousandth of the vast range of possibilities to what I am talking about. Say you had the chance to skip 1-2weeks of school to go on a holiday to spend special and important occasions with people that mattered, that is within your means ain’t it? But it’s kind of insane. It doesn’t sound insane until you actually give it more thought, remember that you’re about to miss possibly important lessons as well for a vacation. Now say you had the same opportunity, but what’s holding you back isn’t school but perhaps your grandpa’s 85th birthday. This to me(by no means defining for you) would mean a vacation is out of my league. I hope this kind of explains what I mean, it’s just an example but by no means define what insane is for you.

I just want to make a point that we should all remember to live our lifes and not take things for granted, and to always be grateful and understanding. To remember how blessed we are in our own different ways to steer clear of pessimism. Your life may be harder than the next guy, or better, but whichever it is, let’s do what we can individually to change the situation to what we desire it to be, starting with our minds.

I’m in no way perfect and I forget myself to think these things in the moment, but it’s something I hope we all do our best to remember.

We are all blessed enough to be alive till today, to have a choice, this guy, this guy in the photo, never made it out of Pompeii to have another choice. 

dont forget to always do something insane to stay sane, whilst being kind and grateful.

Posted by

I like to write when I'm struck with emotions.

Leave a Reply

